Prof. Ali Taher

American University of Beirut Medical Center

Ali T. Taher, MD, PhD, FRCP, Professor of Medicine at the Division of Hematology & Oncology Department of Internal Medicine, is the Director of the Naef K. Basile Cancer Institute (NKBCI) at the American University of Beirut Medical Center (AUBMC). He has occupied the position of the Vice Chair for Research at the Department of Internal Medicine, AUBMC and was also the Founding Director Fellowship and Residents Research Program (FRRP), Faculty of Medicine. Nationally, Prof. Taher is an integral member of a team of consultants at the Thalassemia Department of the Chronic Care Center (CCC) located in Hazmieh, Lebanon where he has contributed to state-of-the-art programs for prevention and management of thalassemia patients in the country. Internationally, Prof. Taher has also been an adjunct Professor of Hematology & Medical Oncology at Emory School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA, USA since 2013. In May 2018 Prof. Taher was granted Tenure in the current rank as full time professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, Faculty of Medicine at AUBMC.

Prof. Taher has received numerous awards, including the “International Leader in Thalassemia” award of the Sultan Bin Khalifa International Thalassemia Awards in 2013 and the Research Excellence Award of the Lebanese National Council for Scientific Research in 2016. In 2012, Prof. Taher was granted a PhD from Leiden University Medical Center (LUMC) for his groundbreaking work on thalassemia intermedia which unraveled morbidity behind the disease. 

Prof. Taher has been invited to over 200 conferences both regionally and internationally as a keynote speaker, chairperson and moderator and has around 450 manuscripts published in leading peer-reviewed international journals (Citations 14,759; h-index 59). He is also an active member of some of the most prestigious Hematology societies in the world (American Society of Hematology, European Hematology Association, The International Society on Thrombosis and Hemostasis, New York Academy of Sciences).